Category: Characterization

Symposium A

Investigation of Materials at the Nanoscale using Electrons and X-rays

(Jointly organized with Australian MRS)

Electron and X-ray excitations play a fundamental role in materials and device discovery. This symposium aims to discuss the challenges and opportunities in the characterization of nanoscale materials to obtain detailed pictures of their chemical, physical and structural properties.


As a tribute to the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry which was awarded for high resolution cryo-TEM work on biological materials, this symposium will not be limited to hard matter topics but will also cover bio and soft materials.


Besides electron and X-ray techniques using laboratory sources, synchrotron X-ray based techniques will be outlined in this symposium. We invite contributions in the use of these techniques for the study of inorganic, organic, hybrid and biological materials and devices.

  • In-Situ and operando methods in SEM, TEM and X-ray techniques (stimuli can be in different forms such as heat, electrical biasing, mechanical, optical, etc.)
  • Functional studies of materials/devices (for applications in catalysis, energy storage, energy conversion, aerospace, microelectronics, etc.)
  • Study of magnetic materials, including electron holography
  • High resolution TEM and STEM
  • X-ray diffraction and scattering methods (synchrotron and lab sources)
  • Microanalysis methods such as EBSD, EPMA, etc.
  • High-throughput and machine learning in EM and X-ray based characterization techniques
  • Low dose techniques in TEM characterisation
  • Spectroscopy using EM and X-rays
  • Tomography (TEM, X-ray CT)
  • Michel BOSMAN, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Deok-Yong CHO , Chonbuk University, South Korea
  • Peter CROZIER, Arizona State University, USA
  • Arnaud DEMORTIERE, The National Center for Scientific Research, France
  • Vinayak DRAVID, Northwestern University, USA
  • Rafal DUNIN-BORKOWSKI , Jülich Forschungszentrum/RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Thierry EPICIER, INSA de Lyon, Université Lyon I , France
  • Yu HAN, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Lothar HOUBEN, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Hiroshi JINNAI , University of Tohoku, Japan
  • András KOVACS, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
  • Duane LOH, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Stephen MCVITIE, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Quentin RAMASSE, University of Leeds, UK
  • Bob SINCLAIR, Stanford University, USA
  • Etienne SNOECK, The Centre d’Élaboration de Matériaux et d’Etudes Structurales, France
  • Andy STEWART, University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Michael TONEY, Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource, USA


Yeng Ming LAM
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Monash University, Australia


National University of Singapore, Singapore

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Yeng Ming LAM
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore