Category: Functional Materials

Symposium FF

Computational Advanced Material Science and Application

The objective of this symposium is to promote international exchange of new knowledge and recent development in all aspects of computational materials science and application, featuring the most advanced mathematical modeling and numerical methodology developments. It includes all classes of materials and their structures.  Of specific interest are the underlying mechanisms governing the functional elements of the materials.

It also covers important computational studies of others aspects, such as imperfections in materials, novel processes for advanced materials synthesis, engineering of material properties, and environmental consideration in material performance etc.

Methodology Development/Refinement

  • Ab Initio
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Continuum Modeling
  • Device-Level Simulation
  • Digital Materials Design
  • Empirical Molecular Dynamics
  • Multiphase Modeling Multiphysics Modeling
  • Multiscale Modeling
  • Semi-Empirical


Modeling of Novel Material Systems

  • Biomaterials & Medical Devices
  • Catalytic Materials
  • Composite Materials and Layered Structures
  • Electrochemical Materials
  • Green Materials
  • Ionic Liquids
  • Mechanobiology
  • Magnetic Materials
  • Metamaterials
  • Polymeric Systems
  • Morphing Structures, Soft/Flexible Materials


Modeling of Novel Nanomaterials

  • 0D, 1D and 2D Nanomaterials
  • Inorganic Macromolecules
  • Nanocomposites
  • Nanocrystalline, Nanophase, Nanostructured Materials
  • Nanorods, Nanoplatelets, Nanotubes, Nanofibrils, Quantum Wires
  • Nanofilms, Nanoholes
  • Jinju CHEN, Newcastle University, UK
  • Yue CHEN, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Zhe DING, Wuhan University of Science and Technology, China
  • M. W. FU, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Yixiang GAN, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Junfeng GAO, Dalian University of Technology, China
  • Zheng-ming HUANG, Tongji University, China
  • Mehdi JAFARY-ZADEH, Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore
  • Hironori KAJI, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Poonam KUMARI, Indian Institute of Technology, India
  • Tsuyoshi MIYAZAKI, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
  • Teng Yong NG, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Ran NI, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Tamio OGUCHI, Osaka University, Japan
  • Hui PAN, University of Macau, Macau
  • Thomas E. PROFFEN, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Hai Hui RUAN, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Masae TAKAHASHI, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Kwek-Tze TAN, The University of Akron, USA
  • Pandurangan VENKATARAMAN, Indian Institute of Technology, India
  • Masato YOSHIYA, Osaka University, Japan
  • Zhixin ZHAN, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Hua LI
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Fangsen CUI
Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore


Zishun LIU
Xi’an Jiaotong University, China

Simon Fraser University, Canada

Shantanu S. MULAY
Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India


Hua LI
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore