Category: Electronic Materials

Symposium G

Progress and Challenges in Molecular Electronics II

Molecular electronics is a rapidly developing and highly interdisciplinary field of research bridging surface scientists, theorists, chemists, and physicists, aiming to improve the understanding of the mechanisms of charge transport across molecules and to develop novel nanoscale devices for applications in optoelectonics, spintronics, energy conversion and storage, and bioelectronics. Recent developments in fabrication methods make it now possible to study how charge carriers interact with molecules in great detail enabling the study of quantum effects, spin dependent transport, light-matter interactions, or thermoelectric effects, at molecular and sub-molecular length scales. Despite the tremendous progress over the last few years, new challenges and unexplained phenomena emerged. The aim of the symposium is to bring together the key players in the field to discuss recent progress and challenges.

  • molecule-electrode interface engineering
  • mechanisms of charge transport
  • junction fabrication methods
  • theory and modelling methods
  • light matter interaction in molecular junctions
  • biomolecular electronics
  • molecular spintronics
  • molecular opto-electronics
  • molecular plasmonics
  • molecular switches
  • long range charge transport
  • Javier AIZPURUA, Material Physics Center, Spain
  • Tim ALBRECHT, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Michel CALAME, Empa, Switzerland
  • Bart DE NIJS, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Ismael DIEZ PEREZ, Kings College London, UK
  • David A. EGGER, University of Regensburg, Germany
  • Wenjing HONG, Xiamen University, China
  • Jean Christophe LACROIX, Université Paris Diderot, France
  • Takhee LEE, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Marcel MAYOR, Universität Basel, Switzerland
  • Fabian PAULY, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
  • Andrew PIKE, Newcastle University, UK
  • Su Ying QUEK, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Elke SCHEER, Universität Konstanz, Germany
  • Guillaume SCHULL, Université de Strasbourg, France
  • Mordechai SHEVES, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Gemma C. SOLOMON, The University of Coopenhagen, Denmark
  • Damien THOMPSON, University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Herre VAN DER ZANT, University of Delft, The Netherlands
  • George WHITESIDES, Harvard Univerisity, USA
  • Hyo Jae YOON, Korea University, South Korea


Christian Albertus NIJHUIS
National University of Singapore, Singapore


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore

University of Delft, The Netherlands

University of Minnesota, USA

University of Limerick, Ireland


Christian Albertus NIJHUIS
National University of Singapore, Singapore