Category: Functional Materials

Symposium LL

Multifunctional Ceramics for EMI Shielding and Materials for Tribological Applications

The scope of this symposium is focused on the progression in ceramics, metal oxides, polymer composites materials for shielding and tribological applications.

The symposium will cover wide range of materials processing methods, design aspects, modeling and simulations which will also encompasses nano materials, durable and wear resistive coatings.

The control of electromagnetic interference (EMI) becoming significant in many EMI absorption and shielding applications in engineering and medicine. Design and development of suitable EMI absorption/shielding materials have attracted considerable attention in high frequency and high power electronics.

The tribology of advanced composites is another theme of this symposium which will comprises Tribological evaluation in harsh operating environments; Bio-tribology; Nano-tribology and nano-mechanical composites analyses.

  • Ceramics/metal oxide based materials for shielding/absorbing applications.
  • Ferrites, hexaferrites, conductive coatings, laminates, nano composites, etc. as EMI/RFI absorbing/shielding materials.

 Tribological Applications:

  • Tribology of advanced composites materials: Ceramics/polymeric/ metals.
  • Tribological aspects for materials at harsh environments: elevated temperature, pressure, humid and corrosive conditions.
  • Bio-tribology, Nano-tribology, Green-tribology, Lubricants, Lubrication and Fuels.
  • Surfcae Tribology, Wear resistive and durable coatings for automotive/aerospace/green building applications.
  • Tribology in manufacturing.
  • Anant K. AGARWAL, The Ohio State University, USA
  • Arnab BHATTACHARYA, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India
  • Baris CAGLAR, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Karl DELBE, École Nationale d’Ingénieur de Tarbes, France
  • R. GNANAMOORTHY, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India
  • Harpreet GREWAL, Shiv Nadar University, India
  • Zhanhu GUO, University of Tennessee, USA
  • Govind GUPTA, CSIR – National Physical Laboratory, India
  • Manoj GUPTA, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Vincent HARRIS, Northeastern University, USA
  • Om Prakash KHATRI, CSIR – Indian Institute of Petroleum, India
  • Alicja KRELLA, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • Pranab MANDAL, SRM University, India
  • Feodor OGRIN, University of Exeter, UK
  • Rekha RATTAN, Lovely Professional University, India
  • Pradip Kumar ROY, Indian Institute of Technology (BHU), India
  • Yoshinori SAWAE, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Himani SHARMA, Doon University, Dehradun, India
  • Bharti SINGH, Delhi Technological University, India
  • Harpreet SINGH, Shiv Nadar University, India
  • Chew Beng SOH, Singapore Institute of Technology, Singapore
  • Balakumar SUBRAMANIAN, University of Madras, India
  • Sudhiranjan TRIPATHY, Institute of Materials Research and Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore
  • Takanori TSUTAOKA, Hiroshima University, Japan
  • Shinichiro YAMAMOTO, University of Hyogo, Japan


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore

Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore


Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia

Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India

Metamagnetics, Inc. Boston, Massachusetts, USA


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore