Category: Energy Materials

Symposium N

Towards Safe High Power Rechargeable Batteries

(Jointly organized with Chinese MRS)

The symposium will cover the latest applied research outcome on advanced electrochemical energy storage materials and devices as well as fundamental understanding of the materials & processes controlling their performance.

The recent highly publicized lithium-ion battery fires in automotive, aviation, and consumer electronics have brought to the fore the need to develop novel materials and battery architectures that can sustain high rate capability both in discharging and charging without sacrificing safety.

This symposium will focus on recent progress towards safer batteries that can reliably provide the necessary power and energy for e-mobility and grid support spanning the full range from materials design to device engineering.

Contributions on the following topics are encouraged:

  • Materials design for safer lithium and sodium-ion batteries
  • Designing materials for ultrafast charging and discharging
  • Anode and cathode systems
  • Electrode materials and composites with tailored nanostructures
  • Understanding solid-solid and solid-liquid interfaces
  • Novel liquid electrolyte formulations for high safety and voltage
  • Advances in enabling Li metal anodes
  • Solid electrolytes / all-solid-state Li and Na-based batteries
  • Redox Flow batteries
  • Metal-air and metal-sulfur batteries
  • Magnesium- and Aluminium-based batteries
  • Novel architectures for battery design
  • Understanding battery safety and mechanisms of failure
  • Safety, reliability, system design and engineering
  • Performance monitoring, control and validation
  • Devices with integrated energy storage functionality


  • Jaephil CHO, UNIST, South Korea
  • Maria FORSYTH, Deakin University, Australia
  • Hong LI, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Institute of Physics, China
  • Linda NAZAR, University of Waterloo, Canada


  • Jean-Claude BADOT, CNRS – Chimie ParisTech, France
  • Prabeer BARPANDA, IISc Bangalore, India
  • Shouhang BO, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Ratnakumar V. BUGGA, California Institute of Technology, USA
  • Pieremanuele CANEPA, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Laurence CROGUENNEC, ICMCB, France
  • Robert DOMINKO, National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia
  • Kristina EDSTRÖM, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Hubert GIRAULT, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Akitoshi HAYASHI, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • Yunhui HUANG, Tongji University, China
  • Yoon-Seok JUNG, Hanyang University, South Korea
  • Yong-Mook KANG, Dongguk University, South Korea
  • Yuzhang LI, Stanford University, USA
  • Hanxing LIU, Wuhan University of Technology, China
  • Yi-Chun LU, Chinese University of Hongkong, Hongkong, China
  • Shirley MENG, University of California San Diego, USA
  • Satishchandra OGALE, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, India
  • Philippe POIZOT, Institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel, France
  • Matthew SUSS, Technion, Israel
  • Yuki YAMADA, University of Tokyo, Japan


Stefan ADAMS
National University of Singapore, Singapore

National University of Singapore, Singapore


Byoungwoo KANG
Pohang University of Science and Technology, South Korea

Zhaoyin WEN
CAS, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics Shanghai, China

Indian Institute of Science, India

Sebastien MARTINET
CEA Grenoble, France


Stefan ADAMS
National University of Singapore, Singapore