Category: Energy Materials

Symposium Q

Advanced Materials for Thermoelectrics

This symposium will cover recent progress in thermoelectric materials, including but not limited to novel nanostructured materials, bulk composites, conducting polymers, inorganic-organic hybrids, and compound semiconductors.

Specific emphasis will be laid on innovative design and synthesis routes of new materials, new physics concepts and unique thermoelectric module engineering principles.

Importance will be given to development of measurement protocols for thin film Seebeck, thermal conductivity and powerfactor.

Theoretical ideas on not only understanding fundamental properties, but predictive TE material design as well are expected to further synergize the search for next-generation thermoelectric materials.

1. Thermoelectric Materials Design, Synthesis and preparation (conjugated polymers, inorganic-organic hybrids, nanocrystal arrays, quantum dots, nanowires, nanocomposites, 2D materials)

2. Thermoelectric Materials Characterization (Seebeck Coefficient, Thermal Conductivity – inplane and crossplane, Bulk thermoelectric coefficients, Thermoelectric Powerfactor, ZT)

3. Thermoelectric Concepts

  • Band Structure optimization in inorganic materials
  • Aligned conducting polymers and their properties
  • Structure-Property relations in thermoelectric materials
  • Phonon Engineering to reduce thermal conductivity

4. New Physical Phenomenon

  • Energy-dependent scattering in hybrid materials
  • Magnetic tunability of thermoelectric properties
  • Multivalley degeneracy and band/scattering engineering to enhance powerfactor
  • Novel ways to enhance Seebeck coefficient of polymers
  • Design strategies for multifunctional thermoelectrics

5. Novel Applications

  • Thin film thermoelectrics
  • Flexible & Wearable Electronics
  • Next Generation low-cost, high efficiency devices
  • Renkun CHEN, University of California San Diego, USA
  • In CHUNG, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Emmanuel GUILMEAU, CNRS, France
  • Jiaqing HE, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
  • Boris KOZINSKY, Harvard University, USA
  • Wu LI, Shenzhen University, China
  • Jie MA, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Takao MORI, National Institute for Materials Science , Japan
  • Michihiro OHTA, AIST, Japan
  • P. F. P. POUDEU, University of Michigan, USA
  • Pengfei QIU, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Junichiro SHIOMI, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • David SINGH, University of Missouri, USA
  • Jeffrey SNYDER, Northwestern University, USA
  • Eric TOBERER, Colorado School of Mines, USA
  • Shuo-Wang YANG, Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore
  • Wenqing ZHANG, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
  • Yanliang ZHANG, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Lidong ZHAO, Beihang University, China


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore

Alex, Qingyu YAN
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Kanishka BISWAS
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India

Jeffrey SNYDER
Northwestern University, USA


Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore