Symposium RR

Category: Photonics / Optical Materials

Symposium RR

Ultrafast Optics

The year 2018 marked the 28th anniversary of modern ultrafast optics since the first demonstration of Kerr lens modelocked Ti:sapphire laser in 1990. The field of ultrafast optics has extended well beyond the narrow boundary of ultrafast source and reaching into applications in biology labs, manufacturing facilities, and even into consumer healthcare and electronics.

The symposium will cover and serve as the platform for discussing the development of new ultrafast laser sources, the manipulation and characterization of ultrashort pulses as well as their use in scientific, biomedical and industrial applications. We welcome university researchers from diverse fields, as well as scientists and engineers from industry to present their forefront works in this conference.

We encourage submission of papers on all aspects of ultrafast optics. The non-exhaustive list of topics for the symposium include the following areas:

  • Ultrafast lasers
  • High bandwidth photonics
  • Pump probe characterization
  • High speed optical signal processing
  • All-optical networks
  • Ultrafast dynamics in materials

Other topics in the field of ultrafast optics are also welcomed.

~ Partial List ~

  • Andrea BLANCO-REDONDO, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Daniel BLUMENTHAL, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Judith DAWES, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Javier García DE ABAJO, ICFO-Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques, Spain
  • Jianji DONG, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Benjamin EGGLETON, CUDOS, Australia
  • Liang FENG, University of Pennsylvania, Singapore
  • Seng Tiong HO, Northwestern University, USA
  • Kazuhiro IKEDA, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan
  • Pierre-Ambroise LACOURT, Femto ST Sciences and Technologies, Institut de Recherche, France
  • Huiyun LIU, University College London, UK
  • Roberto MORANDOTTI, National Institute of Scientific Research, Canada
  • David MOSS, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Radha NAGARAJAN, Inphi Corporation, USA
  • Kensuke OGAWA, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Kelvin OOI, Xiamen University Malaysia, Malaysia


Dawn TAN
Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore

Chee Wei LEE
Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore


Doris Keh Ting NG
Institute of Microelectronics (IME), A*STAR, Singapore

Jianji DONG
Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST), China

Yeshaiahu FAINMAN
University of California San Diego, USA


Dawn TAN
Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore


Organizer Contact

Materials Research Society of Singapore
c/o School of Materials Science and Engineering
Nanyang Technological University
50 Nanyang Avenue
BLK N4.1 Level 1 Room N4.1-01-27
Singapore 639798

Conference Secretariat

Towner Post Office
PO Box 189
Singapore 913227
Tel: +65 6900 7183