Symposium SS

Category: Photonics / Optical Materials

Symposium SS

Advanced Optical Gain Materials towards Enhanced Light-Matter Interactions

Optical gain materials with unique and superior light-matter interacting properties are crucial for the fundamental advances of coherent and entangled light sources, optical oscillators and amplifiers, optical sensors, photo-detectors and optical transistors, etc. This symposium will bring experts working in the fields from the design and fabrication, photo-physics and device study of emergent optical gain materials towards enhanced light-matter interactions and advanced optoelectronic applications, including but not limited to semiconductor nanomaterials, 2D semiconductors, halide perovskite materials. The symposium will also include the controlling and manipulation of light-matter interaction in optical gain materials by microcavities and metallic surface plasmon structures, etc. The context of this symposium will enable a worldwide interdisciplinary exchange on the latest research and developments in the field of optical gain materials.

  • Fabrication and design of emergent optical gain materials including semiconductor nanomaterials, two dimensional semiconductors, halide perovskites, etc
  • Photo-physical and spectroscopic studies of emergent optical gain materials
  • Light-matter interaction of optical gain materials coupled with resonant microcavities and plasmonic structures
  • Strong light-matter interaction in optical gain materials
  • Continuous wave pumped lasers
  • Optical gain materials for photonic and plasmonic small lasing devices
  • Optical gain materials for single photon sources and entangled photon sources
  • Low dimensional optical gain materials and related applications
  • Ritesh AGARWAL, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Hyunyong CHOI, Yonsei University, South Korea
  • Volkan DEMIR, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Ortwin HESS, Imperial College London, UK
  • Jennifer A. HOLLINGSWORTH, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Yong-Zhen HUANG, Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Pablos LAGOUDAKIS, University of Southampton & Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology, UK
  • Song JIN, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Tae-Woo LEE, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Xinfeng LIU, The National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, USA
  • An Lian PAN, Hunan University, China
  • Hong-Gyu PARK, Korea University, South Korea
  • Bo PENG, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
  • Junsuk RHO, POSTECH, South Korea
  • Min-Kyo SEO, KAIST, South Korea
  • Qinghai SONG, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • Thilo STÖFERLE, IBM Research GmbH, Switzerland
  • Handong SUN, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Jiang TANG, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Ting YU, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Weibo GAO
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Peking University, China

Hong-Gyu PARK
Korea University, South Korea

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel


Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Organizer Contact

Materials Research Society of Singapore
c/o School of Materials Science and Engineering
Nanyang Technological University
50 Nanyang Avenue
BLK N4.1 Level 1 Room N4.1-01-27
Singapore 639798

Conference Secretariat

Towner Post Office
PO Box 189
Singapore 913227
Tel: +65 6900 7183