Category: Nanomaterials

Symposium X

Von Hippel Award Symposium in Honour of Prof CNR Rao FRS

(Jointly organized with MRS)

The Von Hippel Award, the Materials Research Society’s highest honor, recognizes those qualities most prized by materials scientists and engineers—brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision that transcends the boundaries of conventional scientific disciplines.

This symposium is organised in honour of 2017 Von Hippel Award winner Professor CNR Rao, FRS. He is the first Asian Scientist to receive this prestigious award.

  • Synthesis and characterization of novel materials including: Nanomaterials such as 2D materials, nanocrystals, metal clusters, nanowires, nanotubes (carbon and inorganic) and their heterostructures
  • Recent developments in novel transition metal oxides
  • Metal-oxide framework structures
  • Aliovalent anion substitution, bandgap tuning and applications
  • Applications of nanomaterials for a range of applications including catalysis, energy harvesting and storage
  • Dissipationless materials such as topological materials
  • Paul ATTFIELD, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Yoshio BANDO, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
  • Anthony CHEETHAM, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Vinayak DRAVID, Northwestern University, USA
  • Claudia FELSER, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany
  • Ashok GANGULI, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
  • Arindam GHOSH, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Andrew GOODWIN, Oxford University, UK
  • Arunava GUPTA, The University of Alabama, USA
  • Mark C. HERSAM, Northwestern University, USA
  • Chennupati JAGADISH, Australian National University, Australia
  • Martin JANSEN, Max Planck Institute, Germany
  • Giridhar U. KULKARNI, CeNS, Bangalore, India
  • Xiaogang LIU, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Bettina V. LOTSCH, MPI-Stuttgart, Germany
  • Upadrasta RAMAMURT, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Matthew ROSSEINSKY, University of Liverpool, UK
  • D. D. SARMA, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • Ram SESHADRI, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Yuichi SHIMAKAWA, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Abhay SHUKLA, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France
  • Reshef TENNE, Weizmann Institute, Israel
  • Thirumalai VENKATESAN, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Andrew WEE, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Masahiro YOSHIMURA, Tokyo Instititute of Technology, Japan

Invited papers of Symposium X will be considered for publication in a special issue on “Advances in Materials Science: A Special Issue in Honour of Prof CNR Rao” in the journal of Applied Materials Today.


In addition, a special issue of Journal of Solid State Chemistry in honour of Prof. CNR Rao will also be published. These will go through usual review process by JSSC. Authors presenting at Symposium X and who are interested to submit the paper, can go to:

  • Click on the “Submit Paper” option from the top menu
  • Enter your user name and password (first-time users will have to register)
  • After entering the titles of your manuscript, please select “VSI:CNR Rao Special Issue” from the “Article Type” drop down menu;
  • Follow the remaining step-by-step instructions to submit your paper
    Submission deadline: June 28th, 2019
  • Elsevier Inc


Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Australian National University, Australia


Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India


Nanyang Technological University, Singapore