Category: Nanomaterials

Symposium Z

Nanomaterials for Biointerfacial Science

The rapid advances of materials science and nanoscience are enabling increasingly precise control over the purpose-driven design and development of nanomaterials. These capabilities are leading to novel approaches for interfacing nanomaterials with biological systems, with broad applications across the medical, biotechnology, and environmental science fields.

Indeed, there is a growing field of nanomaterials for biointerfacial science applications where advances in materials science and interfacial science are helping to address outstanding needs in the medical and biotechnology fields.

In this symposium, world-leading experts will present cutting-edge research topics in the field of nanomaterials for biointerfacial science and there will be engaging discussions about the potential of nanomaterials for advancing fundamental science and driving forward innovative applications.

• Biological Surface Science
• Surface Functionalization
• Biosensing and Diagnostics

  • Katsuhiko ARIGA, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
  • Ying-Chih CHANG, Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Sang-Joon CHO, Park Systems Corp., South Korea
  • Anna Maria COCLITE, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Andreas DAHLIN, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Kenneth DAWSON, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Jiri HOMOLA, Institute of Photonics and Electronics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic
  • Joshua JACKMAN, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea
  • Yuqiang MA, Nanjing University, China
  • Sang-Hyun OH, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Gaetano SCAMARCIO, University of Bari, Italy
  • Kirk S. SCHANZE, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Samuel STUPP, Northwestern University, USA
  • Francoise WINNIK, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Michael ZHARNIKOV, Heidelberg University, Germany


Nam-Joon CHO
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Prof Paul S. WEISS
University of California-Los Angeles, USA


Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Wolfgang KNOLL
Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria

Katsuhiko ARIGA
National Institute for Materials Science, Japan


Nam-Joon CHO
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore